What microphone for video?

Anvh

Link Posted 30/09/2010 - 18:01
Have played with the K-X and the video mode and I must say that I quite like it, it just something nice to do besides making photos. It completes the package of the experience so to say.
The video quality is very decent but the sound quality is really not good because it was outdoors and there was some wind.

I'm looking to buy the k5 when it's out and I'll use the video on it so I want a better microphone for it, the only problem is I've no knowledge what so ever about microphones.

I found this site with some comparison and some useful information.
http://www.digitalphotographywriter.com/2010/07/dslr-camera-microphone-for-video...

Is everything true what they say there and do you maybe have extra information or experiences with a microphone and what do you advice?

This one Azden SGM-2X was advised by the website I linked to and it seems good to me but I ain't no expert
Stefan

K10D, K5
DA* 16-50, DA* 50-135, D-FA 100 Macro, DA 40 Ltd, DA 18-55
AF-540FGZ

Don

Link Posted 30/09/2010 - 18:23
Rode video mic is best bang for the buck...
they got two models under $200.00 us..

zoom h2 are nice if you want seperate audio ...
use audacity to import audio and nle to synch it to the video ( good tip for kx owners)
Fired many shots. Didn't kill anything.
Last Edited by Don on 30/09/2010 - 18:24

Anvh

Link Posted 30/09/2010 - 18:35
Thank you Don.

Would like to have the audio directly inject with the video so no zoom h2.

I've heard good things about the Rode, the Azden is in the same price range so it would be interesting to see how they compare.
Have you tried/used the Azden maybe or have other experience with them?

I've read about Rode things but this the first time I heard about Azden
Stefan

K10D, K5
AF-540FGZ

Don

Link Posted 30/09/2010 - 18:40
can only vouch for the Rode... that is what I use.
I'm sure azden has some good gear..... but I haven't used any of it.