Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Yet another K100d/K10d flash compatibility thread!

Spinal
Posted 18/06/2007 - 13:04 Link
Greetings! My name is Michele and I've joined Pentax Addicts Anonymous because... oh wait, wrong group

I've been directed here from ephotozine, where I was told that my quest was to seek out "MattMatic" a demigod of Pentax flash photography... that said, after a browse on my searches for K100d in this section, there seem to be lots of VERY knowledgable people!

I'm trying to sort out the mess I've made with my pentax K100ds.. Simply put, I need a new flash, and as I'm just a lowly amateur, I want to spend as little as possible!

Am I right in believing that the K100d has dropped support for plain-old TTL? Hence, this restricts my flash choices to:
  • Pentax 360
    Pentax 540
    Sigma EF 500 ST/Super

Right?

Next, assuming I'm a power junkie, and want the extra power - this limits me to the AF540 or the EF500. What are the differences between the EF500 ST and Super? What extra "features" (if any) would I get if I went with Pentax over Sigma? Or would I get more with the Sigma?

Finally, what are your opinons of these flashes? Which would you buy? Where would you buy it? MicroGlobe has the EF500 Super listed at £89 which I thought of as a bargain - but when you try buying it they tell you they want you to buy the AF360 for twice the price instead... grrr...

Oh, and in case you were wondering - I need the power because I tend to take alot of pictures at events where the stage tends to be illuminated in the weirdest ways and I tend to be fairly far... and without a tripod most of the time!

Thanks in advance,
Michele
MattMatic
Posted 18/06/2007 - 13:16 Link
Hi Michele,
Welcome to the board!
Quote:
"MattMatic" a demigod of Pentax flash photography

ROFLMAO!!
I've been called a few things in my time... but never that

I have both the AF360 and AF540... both very fine guns indeed.