Pentax FF Dead, Maybe

MattyH

Link Posted 16/08/2013 - 12:32
Now before I start, I know this is yet another thread of thousands that have been started before. But.

I work in marketing and happened to speak to someone in China last night who works for a firm who is contract out to another firm that works with Pentax/Ricoh in Far East marketing.

I was informed that Ricoh have pulled all the funding and the contract for the future Pentax FF camera from that contract and informed the said company they may require them again in the next 18-24 months.

Now I just thought Ricoh may have just wanted to change contracts to a different company, but as far as any of us can tell, no one else has had any other contact or info on why they have done this, except the whole FF project has either been pulled or put back due to other projects.

Please be aware this is third hand info, but it is from someone I have had dealings with for the past 10 years and who I trust.

Just thought I would share..

McBrian

Link Posted 16/08/2013 - 12:43
Well with a reported 40%+ decline in US camera sales I would not be surprised if this were true, seems a logical step back in what would be a very expensive R&D/production program with no guarantee of success.
Cheers
Brian.
LBA is good for you, a Lens a day helps you work, rest and play.
Last Edited by McBrian on 16/08/2013 - 12:55

Jonathan-Mac

Link Posted 16/08/2013 - 12:44
It's not first-hand info so certainly to be taken with a large grain of salt.

If it's true, it's good news, as now is not the time for a Pentax FF camera. Now is the time to expand and re-vamp the lens line-up for APS-C cameras.
Pentax hybrid user - Digital K3 & K200D, film 645 and 35mm SLR and Pentax (&other) lenses adapted to Fuji X digital
Fan of DA limited and old manual lenses

johnriley

Link Posted 16/08/2013 - 12:52
Interesting gossip, but that's the only level of it really.