One picture at a time, please

ChrisA

Link Posted 28/06/2010 - 17:30
ems82 wrote:
... I do not feel qualified enough to give a full critique I am only a beginner and do not understand some of the technical side of things

Leaving aside the fact (evident from your gallery) that you aren't at all a beginner, I think this point warrants comment.

You're not the first to cite lack of experience as a reason for not offering a reason for liking or disliking a picture, and there's just no need to feel that way.

I'm quite sure that if you were to ask any of the most experienced photographers that contribute here, lack of experience would never be a reason they would give for not wanting to hear someone's opinion of a photograph.

A fresh pair of eyes, not yet jaundiced or overloaded with technical stuff, can still see, and still have a completely valid opinion of the picture.

Do you have to be an artist to appreciate art? Or a photographer to have a picture trigger an emotion in you?

Of course not.

Critique does not require lots of long photographic buzzwords to be valid.

All it needs is for you to say why it strikes you as it does. Sometimes that takes a little thought, since we often don't think much about why something evokes a particular feeling.

But it's valuable thought, since understanding why you like (or dislike) a picture makes it easier to take pictures you like in future.

A general guideline would be, don't say "I like it". Say "I like it because...".

Or of course, "I don't like it because...".

Some of the best photos I've seen I've really hated.
Pentax K-3, DA18-135, DA35 F2.4, DA17-70, DA55-300, FA28-200, A50 F1.7, A100 F4 Macro, A400 F5.6, Sigma 10-20 EXDC, 50-500 F4.5-6.3 APO DG OS Samsung flash SEF-54PZF(x2)
Last Edited by ChrisA on 28/06/2010 - 17:32

robbie_d

Link Posted 28/06/2010 - 17:35
ChrisA wrote:
ems82 wrote: