DSLR Advice

Tyr

Link Posted 12/04/2007 - 00:40
I've been lurking around for a month or so reading a few bit here and there trying to make my mind up about which camera to get.

I'd initially been eyeing up the K100D, as I thought the K10D to be out of my price range but am now unsure about which to get. I've also considered the GX-10 but am unsure about the lens quality (no reviews out there) and would like to have a compressed RAW format.

I currently have a second hand Pentax Super A with SMC-A 50mm and SMC-A 24-50mm (and an Asahi Pentax S3 with 50mm lens, but I know that won't be compatible). Both SMC-A lenses are automatic TTL metering but are manual focus. I don't know how usable they would be without a split focusing screen, if anyone has any experience with this it would be nice to hear a few opinions. They are very nice lenses and would hate to ignore them if I get a DSLR.

I've been shooting digital for a few years with a Fuji S20Pro (borrowed from my girlfriend when I can) so am used to shooting digital. I went to have a feel of both Pentax cameras to see if that would help. Autofocus was brilliant at all but close ranges, but still fast compared to the 'prosumer' S20Pro. I really couldn't complain at all, many reviews were critical on this point.

Comfort wise I like the Nikon type deep finger grip and found the K100D and K10D uncomfortable in my right hand (I have long fingers). Neither was as uncomfortable as I find the bare Super A and S3 which are not comfortable without a leather case.

I like how light and compact the K100D is but am unsure about the 6MP sensor on larger prints (A3+).

The K10D felt a little unbalanced and once in hand just feels bigger and bulkier.

I mostly do landscape and architecture photography with some wildlife (would probably do more with a better zoom lens and autofocus). Not fond of shooting people as I don't seem to be able to capture any 'good' side.