ZX-5 shutter/advance issue HELP!

marktbaldridge

Link Posted 14/03/2016 - 02:56
I'm new to the form, so hey everyone!

After developing my own B/W film at home, I was gifted a ZX-5 by a friend who no longer used it.

I read through the manual, and I think I know how it should work. But I am having this issue with the camera where the shutter does not seem to move, and the film keeps advancing.

I am only pushing the shutter button far enough to activate the autofocus. But the camera is going crazy!

Check out the video of the issue: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zrKGGfl35KU
(Just uploaded, should be available shortly.)

I feel like the camera was taken very good care of, but I'm just not sure what's going on!

Thanks for any input! Love'n film photography!

~Mark

DoctorJeff

Link Posted 14/03/2016 - 15:36
What's going on is a well-known fault with a lot of the MZ- / ZX- series.
A little plastic cog has given up the ghost and a repair is more than the camera is worth.
My MZ-50 died in exactly the same way.
I nearly bought a replacement body from Kree on this forum, which had the cog replaced with a metal one.
He may still have it if you want to go down that road.
Geoff
Water can wear away a stone - but it can't cook lunch
X-5
istDS
K2000
P50.
Lenses Digital: 50-200, 18-55 KAF: 28-80.
Lenses KA & K: SMC-KA f2.0, SMC-K f1.4, SMC-K f1.7 Tokina KA 28-70 , SMC Pentax 70-210 F4, Sigma KA 75-300 , Hanimex 500mm Mirror, and the Tamron Adaptall-2 stuff.
and then there's all the M42 kit, and the accessories ...

womble

Link Posted 14/03/2016 - 15:37
My limited experience of the MZ/ZX series is that they are prone to electronic and mechanical failure, especially the nylon cog/drive system which regularly fails. It probably isn't now possible to get parts, and would cost more than the camera is worth to repair.