Why do Pentax lag with autofocus?

johnriley

Link Posted 27/01/2013 - 20:16
I'm no expert at wildlife, but have been practising with bird photography and various lenses.

Where focusing is difficult I would maybe focus on the distance involved, perhaps on a tree or whatever, and then just hold that point and capture the bird at the same distance. Or maybe use manual focusing - again it needs practice but photographers managed very well for a long time.

I leave the focusing on centre spot and work with practising with that. It gets better as we go and although there's no chance every shot will be a winner they are generally getting better. I practise wih the equipment I've got and don't fret about the equipment I haven't got.
Best regards, John

NeilP

Link Posted 27/01/2013 - 20:23
After recently trying and failing to focus on some flying Black headed gulls in decent light, I've decided the K-5 + D*300mm just inst up to action shots. Its fine for birds like red kites and a marsh harriers which fly slower, if they are not to close, but the AF speed and tracking cant track faster bird or slower ones that are too close sadly.
UK Wildlife blog ----- UK Wildlife Facebook page ----- UK wildlife Twitter

Father Ted

Link Posted 27/01/2013 - 20:42
Could, (and I'll admit that I don't know), "Catch in focus" be an option for the OP. I use this with manual lenses, will this work with AF lenses, but with camera in MF mode?
Getting there! Thanks to you guys

Pentax K10d, *istDL, Kit lens ( 18-55mm ), 50mm f1.7 lens, Tamron 70-300mm lens, Prinzflex 70-162 manual lens, Various old flashes.

milamber

Link Posted 27/01/2013 - 20:57
Father Ted wrote:
Could, (and I'll admit that I don't know), "Catch in focus" be an option for the OP. I use this with manual lenses, will this work with AF lenses, but with camera in MF mode?