Why bother?

Russ

Link Posted 03/07/2014 - 15:55
gwing wrote:
Now it would be helpful if manufacturers, as now, just gave the proper focal length for their lenses but on each camera body put a stamp saying '47 degrees at 50mm' for whatever they consider their standard length lens. That would help anyone picking up a camera with odd sensor sizes, especially if there was standardisation on whether the width, height or diagonal AOV was to be used

They do that with astronomical eyepieces. Each eyepiece has a focal length, stays the same regardless of what scope you put it in. A 30mm eyepiece is a 30mm regardless. But they also mark the eyepiece with its 'Apparent Field of View'. This way, regardless of which scope you own, you'll know instantly how the eyepiece will perform. The absolute newbies struggle with it initially but its a system that's quickly picked up. So no reason why it shouldn't work for camera lenses too.

andy_bell

Link Posted 04/07/2014 - 08:33
For most Pentax owners I can't imagine there will be an issue as to whether the lens is a "full-Frame" or a "cropped" version, as they are extremely unlikely to bother buying a "full-Frame" camera due to the expected price. if and when it arrives.
There is as much chance of them selling up and purchasing another brand instead.
Personally speaking I did have a film set up a good while ago, and it was useful for me to know that there is an equation for comparison, whether it is merely for angle of view and/or focal length comparison if you wish to include it. It certainly helped me in initially choosing which lenses I'd like to start with.
Now I'm back to where I was in the late 80's equipment wise, it is less of an issue...... as I'm very unlikely to go back to FF as I love my K5II's

Andy
A few bits & Bobs

dcweather

Link Posted 17/07/2014 - 00:28
Horst wrote:
Quote:
I still convert degC to degF

Strange that when the weather gets hot the papers, TV and radio
start quoting the temperatures in degF