Wedding Photographer

Russ

Link Posted 03/09/2013 - 21:34
My best friend from childhood has asked me to be their official photographer for the day. I'm honoured but i have no experience of such things. Said yes but totally petrified now. Massive responsibility, no room for error.....
Has anyone else done this before? Did you have any tips? Or advice.

I'm obviously going to need at least a second camera body, can't risk it with just the K30. What sort of lenses will need? I have the 50mm 1.7, which is a nice portrait lens. And the DA 16-45 gives really crisp images, plus is reasonably wide. But not fast, in aperture or AF. Will i need to invest in a decent F2.8 zoom?

Any advice would be massively welcome and hugely appreciated.

johnriley

Link Posted 03/09/2013 - 21:41
I hope you're getting paid for doing this, because otherwise you've been asked to work incredibly hard, under pressure, for a whole day plus the days you'll spend processing the images. Either that or it's the most expensive wedding present ever devised if it's a gift!

I can shoot a wedding using very little in the way of equipment, but basically 18-135mm plus 43mm f/1.9 or any similar set up is more than enough. Add a flashgun.

There have been a few threads on this, but I'd also suggest a good book on wedding photography, plus lots of practice using your camera for portraits. On the day crowd management will become vital, so you need an assistant plus someone from the wedding party who knows who everyone is.
Best regards, John

Russ

Link Posted 03/09/2013 - 22:12
Many thanks John. He has offered to pay, we haven't discussed price yet. I will ask a friend from my local photo club to help, hopefully he'll agree.

Will also pickup a second body, perhaps a K20D or something. Can always sell it on afterwards.

What is a reasonable flash?

Regards
Russ

Karl

Link Posted 03/09/2013 - 22:13
It is never wise to mix business with pleasure.
I hope you don't fall out.

johnriley