To the stars

K10D

Link Posted 22/01/2015 - 01:06
I'm about to start photographing stars. Since it gets very dark in WA with clear skies, we have area's nearby with zero light pollution. So Iíve been reading up on techniques and kit.

I have just ordered an Astrotrac TT320X-AG and a PS-10 Polar scope. link

I know that the O-GPS1 GPS also has an astrotracer function so am picking one up this Saturday.

So it's an all out assault to try and get some decent images.

If anyone already does this stuff, please post images or put up some pointers on how to keep it simple and get reasonable results.

Best regards

JForeigner

Link Posted 22/01/2015 - 11:55
Hi Gary,

It depends what you are trying to get images of. The night sky covers a lot. I started down this path about 9 months ago, and have really enjoyed it, as well as finding it very frustrating at times. But I am still learning.

So here I go.

I would recommend something like a planisphere to find what you are looking in the sky, and what time of the year different stars are in view. A dark sky really helps, light pollution, or a full moon can work against you. I started by building a barn door tracker to overcome star tails, but I did not get on with it. My next step was to buy a Skywatcher Star Adventurer. Fantastic idea, but this where I am having my main problem. I am struggling to polar align the mount. In the southern hemisphere, there is not a convenient star to help you, such as Polaris. This mount uses the constellation Octans to help you polar align south of the equator. This should be easier for you, but here in Darwin, being close to the equator, this constellation is next to impossible to find, as it is so low in the sky. Well, so far each time I have looked for it.