Tips for New Pentax K-X

goinnovative

Link Posted 09/05/2014 - 19:19
I am just a beginner in DSLR and just brought used Pentax K-x model with kit lens:18-55 and 50-200. I use to take pics in RAW mostly. Is it advisable to increase sharpness, saturation etc. I have a bit sharpness issue.especially last one

How to give EXIF data here?

Mike-P

Link Posted 09/05/2014 - 19:35
If you are shooting Raw then 9/10 times you will need to process the files (sharpness, contrast etc) to get the most out of them.

I don't see much of a sharpness issue with the last one tbh but I notice you are shooting with an aperture of f5.6 @ 200mm, ISO 400 when you could increase your ISO a touch and then use a smaller f stop. Kit lenses are always best stopped down a notch or two if possible.

If you are coming from a point and shoot don't expect punchy sharp pictures straight out of the camera, a DSLR needs a bit more work but it's worth it in the end.
No equipment list here but thanks for taking an interest. My Flickr

goinnovative

Link Posted 10/05/2014 - 04:28
Mike-P wrote:
If you are shooting Raw then 9/10 times you will need to process the files (sharpness, contrast etc) to get the most out of them.

I don't see much of a sharpness issue with the last one tbh but I notice you are shooting with an aperture of f5.6 @ 200mm, ISO 400 when you could increase your ISO a touch and then use a smaller f stop. Kit lenses are always best stopped down a notch or two if possible.

If you are coming from a point and shoot don't expect punchy sharp pictures straight out of the camera, a DSLR needs a bit more work but it's worth it in the end.

Thanks Mike yes, it seems that DSLR needs a bit more work. I am practicing randomly on P, Av, Tv and M mode.
Smaller f stop means increasing f number? like f8?

swarf

Link Posted 10/05/2014 - 11:21
Yes - smaller aperture = larger number, as Mike says kit lenses generally benefit from stopping down a little.