Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

So what's a Pro Camera vs. an entry Level.

Hiljon
Posted 14/12/2009 - 21:16 Link
Yes .. I do know that difference in terms of technical ability of each system .. but really, are we saying that for £2000 plus - you can suddenly take better shots .. can't a pro take an award winning shot with a 110D or K10D as opposed to a K7 etc. Is this all marketing hype? .. in other words, appeal to the ego of the potential camera buyer .. that is .. if he thinks he is buying a advanced/semi-pro or pro model .. he is suddenly a better photographer?

And where is the line drawn between (1) entry level (2) enthusiast (3) advanced use and then Pro/ Again .. is this all marketing hype? Its like saying that an artist can paint a better picture by using brushes costing £47 each as opposed to costing a tenner ... so then ... surely I am a better photographer using a basic system as opposed to a system costing 3 x as much with all the bells and whistles? Does it then make me a better shooter?
Dangermouse
Posted 14/12/2009 - 21:20 Link
The K1000 still has a huge amount of hype, despite always being the basic entry-level model (and nothing like as pleasant to use as an ME Super or MX). Surely this suggests that the person behind the camera is more important than the hardware itself?

Generally the difference seems to be about £600 in my experience...
Matt

Shooting the Welsh Wilderness with K-m, KX, MX, ME Super and assorted lenses.
Edited by Dangermouse: 14/12/2009 - 21:21
johnriley
Posted 14/12/2009 - 22:12 Link
The sentiment that it's the photographer that counts is a sound one, because without that talent there is nothing.

However, there is some need for the concept of a "pro" camera in that it will be more robust, might have a higher fps rate for the sports photographers, might have weather resistance for the rigours of the conditions it is used in and so on. It might be a Pentax K7.