Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

professional professional

Smeggypants
Posted 09/09/2011 - 09:38 Link
cardiff_gareth wrote:
Honoured to have my name listed

Me right now - I currently have 2 sides to my 'work' photography 1) portraits and 2) creative art
Portraits: home/on location portraits - individual/group/family
Creative Art: I work as a freelance photographer for a company called Graham & Brown who work as the middle man for companies like Monsoon, Next, B&Q, Wilkinsons etc. My images have so far been accepted and in print for B&Q and Wilkinsons

I'd say I'm more semi pro as the money I make isn't my 'bread and butter' monthly pay but more of a top up

Also flattered, honoured and humbled to be on jeff0000's list

I have no desire to be a professional photographer. IMO as soon as you take photographs for money you are owned by the clients. I do not want to be enslaved by that. When I press the shutter I want to do it because I feel the image will be be artistically nice and not becuase it will be commercially successful. I value my shutter pressing freedom.

I respect that other snappers are happy to snap for money. It's just not something that I personally feel comfortable with.

Recently I've been contacted by several peeps who have liked some of my pics and have asked if they could buy them. The fact that someone is willing to pay for something I've created is very very flattering indeed.

That willingness to pay was more than enough reward for me. I replied to them and said they were welcome to have them for free.
[i]Bodies: 1x K-5IIs, 2x K-5, Sony TX-5, Nokia 808
Lenses: Pentax DA 10-17mm ED(IF) Fish Eye, Pentax DA 14mm f/2.8, Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8, Pentax-A 28mm f/2.8, Sigma 30mm F1.4 EX DC, Pentax-A 50mm f/1.2, Pentax-A 50mm f/1.4, Pentax-FA 50mm f/1.4, Pentax-A 50mm f/1.7, Pentax DA* 50-135mm f/2.8, Sigma 135-400mm APO DG, and more ..
Flash: AF-540FGZ, Vivitar 283
gartmore
Posted 09/09/2011 - 10:05 Link