Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Oh What have I done????

JudithAnn
Posted 09/01/2011 - 05:08 Link
I just bought myself a K10d...I have been using my K-m/k2000 since I crossed over from my K1000, almost two years ago

I was thrilled with the price and it came with a 3 year extended warranty, all under $300 Canadian.

That same evening, I bid and won a flash(e Bay)...Pentax AF-500 FTZ TTL Flash.

Thinking I had done my homeworkand knew what I was getting, but finding out that I may have made a mistake, because I am being told that this flash was the wrong flash for the K10d....I paid $170 Canadian for it....have I made error???

I do own a Metz 60 CT...with the big box and the dryfit battery...soo I thought something lighter might be a treat..and I am still working out how to use this one with my K-m.

Any advice....or enlightment on this flash....Pentax AF-500 FTZ TTL Flash would be appreciated.

As Ever;
Judithann:
johnriley
Posted 09/01/2011 - 05:40 Link
I'm not an expert on Pentax flash, but I think you'll find that your flash is a TTL type and you ideally want a P-TTL.

However, all is not lost as you can still use the flash in standard Auto mode and Manual.

I'm sure there will be others along in due course with more detail!
Best regards, John
paulgee20
Posted 09/01/2011 - 06:21 Link
Hi Judith, (happy New Year),

I believe that you will find that the Flash will fire on full power all the time. It is a TTL flash and not P-TTL. You might have some control in manual mode on the camera but it's guess work on the correct exposures.

You will need I believe, to use either A or M modes. To use A mode, you set your flash for the aperture and ISO you want to use and fire away. The Flash will measure proper exposure for your shot but the camera will only be Triggering the flash. To use it in M mode, you set the output power. This will be a 1/1, 1/2, 1/4 etc setting.

So all will not be lost, just more work.

Kind Regards

Paul