Newbie seeks advice about a Pentax SF7

Anonymous

Link Posted 10/09/2004 - 11:39
Hello all

I am completely new to photography and found a second hand Pentax SF7 for £70 with a 35-70mm lens. I am just wondering what people think about this camera, should I buy it, are there ary little quirks I should know about etc.

Also I went on the Pentax website in america to download the manual and I only found the sf1 and sf10, are these cameras similar.

Thanks.

ivanhoe

Link Posted 24/10/2004 - 14:13
got one go ahead
a picture paints a thousand words

spbatt

Link Posted 24/10/2004 - 18:41
The SF7 is a good camera in my books, it offers lots and is easy to use, and great value secondhand. Still, a camera is only as good as the lens you use it with and I happen to also like the Pentax-A versions of the 35-70mm zoom - nicely compact and light but having a useful zoom range and very decent performance. I have an Pentax-F version being cleaned so have not used it...yet, but I believe the -A and -F lenses are the same optically.

Regards
Simon

George Lazarette

Link Posted 26/10/2004 - 20:24
The SF7 was called the SF10 in the USA. It is well-made by modern standards

£70 is not especially cheap for this camera/lens combination. You might be able to do slightly better on Ebay, though if you can see and handle the camera before buying it, that is worth something.

George

Anonymous

Link Posted 22/01/2006 - 15:19
I got a SF7 from my father. It is not my first camera, but it is my first SLR.

amilner

Link Posted 23/01/2006 - 17:22