Hello from Waterdown, Ontario

Jimmy_Dean0

Link Posted 27/12/2009 - 18:47
Hello All,

I'm new to the PentaxUser community, and though not yet a Pentax user, I plan/hope to be in the near future. I am currently shooting with a Canon S5 IS, and while it is a lovely camera, I have been finding it lacking lately, particularly when shooting in low light, sans flash. I want to move up to a DSLR, but am having a heck of a time deciding what system to buy into.

After reading many reviews, looking at dozens of sample shots, and basically making myself crazy, I have narrowed it down to the Pentax K-x. Some of the key things I am looking for are:

- Quality equipment, and of course photographs, at a reasonable price
- Good low light performance (high ISO, with minimal noise)
- Good continuous shooting ability (I always seem to miss the perfect moment by just that little bit)
- The ability/opportunity to grow with the system (I'll never make a living at it, but I'd like to be able take quality photographs some day )

I have looked through the galleries here, and on the ePHOTOzine site, and now I REALLY realize how much I need to learn (and why I need a DSLR!). The shots that are posted are simply amazing! I hope I'll be able to provide some equally good content in time. I'll post a few that I have taken with the S5 so you can see the type of shooting I like.

I would appreciate any feedback/advice you may have to offer a future new DSLR user (I do have an old Minolta XG-1 film camera that I had used for many years, though I have not picked it up for a long time).