Filter, or not?

mowog

Link Posted 28/02/2009 - 00:21
I have just purchased my first brand new lens. (Tokina 19-35), and I'm uncertain, as to whether to buy a Uv filter, for protection.
It is sometimes said, that using filters is the mark of an amateur. Well - I am an amateur!, but what I suppose is meant, is that Pros would not put anything, however good, in front of their lens, as it is bound to reduce image quality. I want to get the best images from my lens too, even if it is a cheapy! - But, It has a big front element. I wouldn't want it to get scratched, and when the lens is focused at infinity, there is quite a gap between the front element, and the name ring - I can see that dust could easily find its way in there. - So, To filter, or not to filter - That is the question!
No man is worth his salt, who has not been banned from at least one Forum, and two Flickr groups.

Mowog.

Greytop

Link Posted 28/02/2009 - 01:06
I have a Hoya Pro1 DMC UV filter on every lens I own. As far as I can tell it doesn't affect the image quality (if it does maybe I'm not looking closely enough ) and anyway I feel happier with some level of protection for my front element(s)
Regards Huw

flickr

Anvh

Link Posted 28/02/2009 - 02:04
The lens hood will provide much better protection and also helps against flares at the same time. I've bought only two UV filters and that was for my first two leneses, havent bought one for my latest two.
The coating on the lens it's self is already very tough so I believe that UV filter wont ad much protection.
Although there are some condition where a UV filter might be a good idea, like for example the salt water off the sea or when you get in a sand storm.

also a little scratch wouldnt harm your lens, torn off a little corner of a post-it note and stick it onto the lens and look though the viewfinder at what you see or what you don't see, to be more exact.
Stefan

K10D, K5
DA* 16-50, DA* 50-135, D-FA 100 Macro, DA 40 Ltd, DA 18-55
AF-540FGZ