Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Advice about auto focus flashes

davenettl
Posted 28/05/2010 - 16:00 Link
Hi all,
I am looking to buy my first flash for my K10d.

I would prefer an auto focus one as opposed to a manual focus.

Does anyone have any advise on the sort of flash I should be looking for when shopping on a budget??

Any help and opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Dave.
I'm new to this, please be gentle!!!!
Mannesty
Posted 28/05/2010 - 16:05 Link
The term auto focus is not quite correct when applied to flashes. Auto zoom is I think what you mean, where the flash head moves in and out depending on whatever focal length the lens is set to.

By far the best Penatax flashes for your camera are the AF360FGZ and AF540FGZ. The 360 lacks the swivel head of the 540, both tilt for bounce flash however. Other makes exist also, like Sigma and Metz, with varying amounts of compatibility with the Pentax flash system.
Peter E Smith - flickr Photostream
davenettl
Posted 28/05/2010 - 16:30 Link
Thanks for the info Peter and the correction in my terminology. I did mean auto zoom. I'm still relatively new to this which obviously shows in my terminology.

I looked at the 540 and although its fantastic its currently out of my budget.

Do metz, sigma or others do a model that has similar features.
pentaxian450
Posted 28/05/2010 - 16:56 Link
davenettl wrote:

Do metz, sigma or others do a model that has similar features.

Yes, they do.
Yves (another one of those crazy Canucks)
davenettl
Posted 28/05/2010 - 17:20 Link
Thanks Pentaxian450. What 'other brand' flash would you recommend??
Adqam
Posted 28/05/2010 - 17:57 Link
Others may disagree, but I would get a third party flash (like the Metz 48AF-1) that has swivel and tilt before buying the pentax AF360 again. It's a great flash, but as the head can only tilt and not swivel I find it awkward when shooting portrait.
pentaxian450
Posted 28/05/2010 - 20:55 Link