You really can't win

gartmore

Link Posted 12/09/2011 - 12:50
I just read this advert:

"I am a keen photographer looking to build up my portfolio thus I am willing to undertake full coverage of any wedding (and pre-wedding shoot) in the central Scotland area until March 2012 FREE OF CHARGE. After the wedding you would be supplied with a disc of high resolution images for you to print and share with your family and friends, as well as two complimentary high quality 9x6 prints"

Looking at his or her website further prints are 75p and books seem to be at cost as well.
Ken
“We must avoid however, snapping away, shooting quickly and without thought, overloading ourselves with unnecessary images that clutter our memory and diminish the clarity of the whole.” - Henri Cartier-Bresson -

davex

Link Posted 12/09/2011 - 13:15
Suppose it`s one way to build up a portfolio, at least they are being honest.
Think if I was in need of a wedding tog I would probably pay for one, rather than take the risk, after all accept their offer and what comeback do you have if the images are useless.
Pobably not great for the general market, but that`s what competion is about.

Davex.
K5 + 8mm-500mm zooms and primes
Please feel free to play with any images I post.
My flickr: link

fatspider

Link Posted 12/09/2011 - 13:21
Quote:
FREE OF CHARGE

Definately not Scottish then, must be a foriegner Ken
My Names Alan, and I'm a lensaholic.
My PPG link
My Flckr link

Blythman

Link Posted 12/09/2011 - 13:57
If the photographer is incompetent then its a shame for any couple that book. The offer to do a pre wedding shoot will help them to make an informed decision.
If he/she is competent then its a good offer, and the photographer is investing for the future. However he/she may have to work hard to adjust their target market to more affluent clients. All recommendations from initial weddings will want it for free too.