will the lens fit.

cono

Link Posted 22/02/2010 - 12:48
Hi all, i am a novice at this and was thinking of upgrading to a digital camera. I currently have an under used MZ6. The lenses are Pentax 28-80mm and a Tamron 70-300mm 1:4-6LD tele(1.2). Would these lenses fit any digital cameras or would i be better of starting afresh. If i need to start afresh any advise on a suitable starter camera would be appreciated.

iceblinker

Link Posted 22/02/2010 - 12:54
Those lenses will fit all the Pentax and Samsung digital SLRs and they will be useful to some extent.

However, I would advise getting at least one more lens as well if you want wide angle. A Pentax 18-55mm is ok to start with, and you may get one packaged cheaply with the camera.

A 28mm lens on Pentax digital provides the same field of view as 42mm on film. You need to divide everything by 1.5 to get the same view on digital.
~Pete

Helpful

iceblinker

Link Posted 22/02/2010 - 12:56
Just to explain the above: the difference in field of view is due to the difference between the size of the digital sensor compared to a frame of 35mm film. It's 1.5 times smaller.
~Pete

Helpful

Anvh

Link Posted 22/02/2010 - 12:59
All lenses that fit your MZ6 will fit onto digital, pentax is still using the K-mount but it's a crippled with some lenses, as long as it has auto-aperture it will work without any problems.

However for 10 pounds more you can most often get the 18-55mm kit lens with your camera, this would be a better lens then your 28-80 and the 18-55mm would give you the same view as the 28-80 give you now.
Stefan

K10D, K5
DA* 16-50, DA* 50-135, D-FA 100 Macro, DA 40 Ltd, DA 18-55
AF-540FGZ

Helpful

fatspider

Link Posted 22/02/2010 - 13:24
Ditto to all the other advice, buy the new DSLR bundled with a kit lens such as the 18-55 and keep the other two, then you'll have focal lengths to cover virtually everything.