Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Why RAW?

barry
Posted 02/10/2006 - 00:55 Link
I must be missing something with regards RAW.

As I understand it I have to take a picture in RAW to get better control of the images or so it seems. So I take the RAW picture, which on the K100D is saved in PEF format. Then I use the software supplied with the camera to convert it to JPEG then do any manipulation in Photoshop Elements, which is what I use for tweeking photos if needed. I'm an amateur photographer so am doing this for fun not profit. Why not just take them as JPEG in the first place? The JPEG images look fine to me and are a fair bit less hassle and leave more room on the SD card.
Barry
MattMatic
Posted 02/10/2006 - 03:30 Link
Barry,
If the JPGs work for you - don't worry
RAW gives you:
* Some exposure lattitude. The conversion software will allow over/under exposed images to be corrected.
* Higher detail colour. RAW is 12-bits per colour (4096 values) vs JPG's 8-bits (256 valus). Converting from RAW to JPG usually has better colour fidelity, especially in colour critical applications, but from RAW to 16-bit TIFF is better still.
* More control over white balance. WB can be corrected at the conversion stage. For some shots (mixed lighting in particular), it is possible to take one RAW file, convert it several times (once for each light source) then blend the whole lot in Photoshop.
* More control over sharpening. Once the camera has sharpened the image into a JPG, there's not much you can do to "unsharpen" it properly. RAW allows you to take exactly what the camera output and apply your own choice of sharpening, depending on the image.
* Hot pixel removal. If a hot/stuck pixel gets converted into a JPG in-camera, it usally appears as a little blob/cross. Good RAW conversion software will automatically detect stuck pixels and remove them cleanly. This is particularly an issue in very long exposure times, and as the CCD ages (I have two or three stuck pixels after 3 years).