Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

What settings to take Action shots with KX

chloe
Posted 23/08/2011 - 21:33 Link
Hi I am a complete novice as far as photography is concerned and have only used a POS in the past but am desperately trying to figure out how to use my new KX as having read up on it was convinced it would be the best buy for a novice.....However, having studied the manual, and trawled through a million forums (or so it feels) I am feeling out of my depth, I want to take photos of my daughter jumping/riding her pony especially at competitions, usually outside in various conditions. I have the kx with the 18-55 and 50-200 lenses, will these enable me to achieve this, also what settings would be the best as I have read that the auto action setting is not as successful as the manual setting but I dont have a clue.... I would appreciate any help please?
Mannesty
Posted 23/08/2011 - 21:48 - Helpful Comment Link
Welcome to the forum Chloe.

I've taken many hundreds of images at horse shows including jumping, ridden, in-hand, and dressage.

Of your two lenses, you'll likely need the 50-200mm more than the 18-55mm.

You'll need to set shutter priority mode (Tv) with a speed of at least 1/320th second to freeze the action of horse jumping. Other disciplines can be shot with a lower speed. Unfortunately, your kit lenses may only be of use outside in sunny conditions as they are relatively 'slow' lenses. Others having a maximum aperture of f2.8 are much better, but expensive.

In poor lighting conditions like cloudy overcast days, you'll need to increase the ISO setting to 400, 800, or even 1600, but be prepared for slightly noisy images at the higher settings.

For indoors, you may need to increase the ISO even further, or invest in faster lenses.

Set the white balance to an appropriate fixed setting rather than auto white balance (AWB). I recommend setting it to daylight for everything, you can make corrections in colour casts later.