what film camera to get??

chaude

Link Posted 09/02/2011 - 09:58
I'm completely new to film photography, as I have only worked with digital, and in a few months time I'll probably be backpacking and would like to get an extra camera and think it would be a film one so I can stick my 43mm ltd on it and use it as a point and shoot at times.
Are there any good recommendations as I don't know anything about the film bodies. I don't think I'll bother using MF when I'm going light and fast so preferably AF, and the smaller the body the better it is.
Also if I'm just taking pictures of general city/culture life, what kind of film would be easy to source and has a good quality? or shall I just pick a few rolls up from Boots

Thank you!

womble

Link Posted 09/02/2011 - 10:09
Camera... I'm not good on the newer AF bodies although I have heard the MZ-6 is a good choice.

Film. No, don't get it in Boots, the choice is awful. Colour or BW? For colour, Ektar 100 is lovely if a little slow. BW: I'd go with Delta 100 if you have plenty of light and Kodak BW400CN if the light levels are lower. It is also very tolerant of exposure errors. Set your ASA dial to 320 for the best results.

A very good place to buy is Silverprint.

Welcome to the wonderful world of film.

K.
Kris Lockyear
It is an illusion that photos are made with the camera… they are made with the eye, heart and head. Henri Cartier-Bresson
Lots of film bodies, a couple of digital ones, too many lenses (mainly older glass) and a Horseman LE 5x4.

My website

Steve Chasey

Link Posted 09/02/2011 - 13:04
Adrian - you live over the river from me, judging by the info in your location header.

Happy to lend you one of my duplicate bodies MZ50 (fully functional copies) or an MZ5 (flash doesn't pop up - spring's gone) if you want to 'try before you by'.

PM me if your interested - drive by your part of town every night on the way home from the Uni.

Steve