wedding looming

BMurray

Link Posted 05/02/2013 - 21:06
Hi, I have my first wedding shoot coming up in march and while i currently read every article i can find on wedding photography and get myself more confused each time, there is one question i have which is not featured in any of the guides: What do i do with my camera gear? it might well be a silly question but if im trying to look organised and professional (dont panic the couple know im not a professional and have seen my portfolio) i can only picture myself lugging my bag around or having to run back and forth to wherever ive put it for safe keeping. not that its a huge amount of gear (Pentax k-30 with WR 18-55MM kit lens, 50-200MM kit lens tamron 70-300mm macro lens, tripod, 6 spare batteries, 2 charging units, 4 x16gb, 4x8gb and 4x 2gb memory cards, remote shutter control, tripod, metz hotshoe flash unit, various hd and cpl filters, a pentax k-r for back up and a laptop and all in a LOWEPRO VERTEX 100 AW backpack. obviously i cant just leave it lying around so does anyone have any tips on how to organise which pieces of kit i will need for inside/outside/reception etc. ? would i be better off getting an 18-200mm lens? or would a 17-50mm cover most of the shots i need?

sorry again if this is a silly question.
B Murray

cabstar

Link Posted 05/02/2013 - 21:37
Never had a bag stolen from a church and at receptions i just put it in a corner and ask someone usually an older person whose not going anywhere to keep an eye on it. But most of the time the wife assists and carries it around.

Your kit is lacking in fast glass which you will need in the church and for the portraits. Rent from SRS if buying is not an option, it will make your day a lot easier.
PPG Wedding photography Flickr
Concert photography

Currently on a Pentax hiatus until an FF Pentax is released

BMurray

Link Posted 05/02/2013 - 21:46