The lens on my Asahi Pentax...?

jack2012

Link Posted 20/06/2010 - 09:58
Alrighty.. so I'm kind of new to photography(not really) but I'm still learning things
So I just got my first film camera, thanks to goodwill (it's fully functioning too!) And I don't really know much about film cameras. My camera's a Asahi Pentax S3 and the problem is when i look through the viewfinder, its always blurry no matter what i do to the lens..
Does that mean there's something wrong with the lens?
Or is it suppose to be like that? (Highly doubt it)
Last Edited by the Moderator Team on 20/06/2010 - 10:05

bforbes

Link Posted 20/06/2010 - 10:04
Not sure about the S3 but most modern cameras have an adjustment to focus the viewfinder have you tried that? Usually it's a slider just above the eyepiece. point the camera at a plain wall and adjust so the markings on the focus screen are sharp.
Barrie
Too Old To Die Young

http://www.pentaxphotogallery.com/artists/barrieforbes

johnriley

Link Posted 20/06/2010 - 10:08
The S3 is a very old manual film camera with a fixed eyepiece dioptre setting, probably of -1. This means that the effective distance from the eye to the focusing screen is about 1m so if you can't focus your eye that close it will always be blurred.

The solution for this could simply be to use reading glasses when using the camera. Then focus may well be very easy. Just turn the focusing ring until the image is sharp.

Commercial links in your post have been removed.
Best regards, John

George Lazarette

Link Posted 20/06/2010 - 10:09
Older cameras required a dioptre adjuster, which fitted into the little grooves on either side of the eyepiece. I still have one somewhere, but it probably wouldn't be right for your eye.

G
Keywords: Charming, polite, and generally agreeable.

Dangermouse

Link Posted 20/06/2010 - 13:08