Strobist Lighting Kit help ?

karthikv82

Link Posted 07/07/2010 - 15:07
Hello All,

As an amateur photographer, I am very intrigued about Strobist Lighting simply because of its cost and flexibility as compared to studio equipment( not that I know too much about it otherwise). Can anyone give me any information on this please. I am looking to build a kit to take along for my shoots. Looking for a kit like this one - linklink

I'd like to know what sort of flash I can use, triggers, costs etc.

Any help is much appritiated.

Thanks,

Karthik
Karthik
www.kvflick.com

karthikv82

Link Posted 07/07/2010 - 15:24
I forgot to mention - I have a Pentax KM and as of now have a Metz 36AF flash. Was lookihg at some Vivitar 285 for the kit but seems to be quite expensive in the UK ?

Thanks,

Karthik
Karthik
www.kvflick.com

Anvh

Link Posted 07/07/2010 - 16:32
Cactus v4 use cheaper batteries AAA for the receiver which drains the fastest and I like the styling better since it's less high.

Instead of the Vivitar 285, you can look at the Yongnuo YN460-II or the newer and power-fuller Yongnuo YN-560. These are probably the cheapest new flashes you can buy with the such power levels.

For the stands I got Lumopro since the reviews were favourable against the Manfrotto ones while costing less, they are only hard to get in the UK. Couldn't found a shop so fast

As for the umbrella's get the 2in1 type, these are basically shoot-through umbrellas with a cover to make them a normal white umbrella's
White indeed bounce less light as silver but, the shoot through is better since you can place the light source (the umbrella in this case) closer to the subject.
I believe the guy on the strobist blog wrote an article about that.
Stefan

K10D, K5
DA* 16-50, DA* 50-135, D-FA 100 Macro, DA 40 Ltd, DA 18-55
AF-540FGZ

karthikv82

Link Posted 07/07/2010 - 17:27
Thanks guys .... looking at the suggested equips rite now.

Regards,

Karthik
Karthik
www.kvflick.com

karthikv82