Rhayader

percy

Link Posted 18/05/2014 - 16:11
A few from a trip around the dams in the Elan Valley, and the Red Kites (plus an opportunist) at Gigrin Farm on Friday.

Wasn't overly happy with most of the BIF pictures - most of which were just not sharp enough for my liking! More practice needed I think. Any advice on BIF photography will be welcome

Gravelrash

Link Posted 18/05/2014 - 16:29
I'm no bird expert but I'd be thinking about lens movement at 300mm (I'm guessing you weren't using a pod) as well as the bird's movement.

I would also be trying to give myself a break with the field of view so trying for something around the F12 mark with a shutter speed between 500 and 1000/sec to reduce the problems of camera/subject movement.

I'm sure one of the more talented and experienced will jump onto this subject for you.

Looks like you captured the day though. Shame it wasn't brighter but in this Country you have to work with it lol
Steve

Sometimes I'm serious and sometimes not, but I consider sarcasm an artform. Which is it today?

percy

Link Posted 18/05/2014 - 16:40
No, all hand held. Took a monopod but didn't use it as these birds were just darting around and changing direction so quickly. I think you're right - a smaller aperture would have helped, at the cost of higher ISO and slower shutter! I'll have to try again later in the year

Blythman

Link Posted 18/05/2014 - 18:29
Don't be too hard on yourself Percy. These are so acrobatic its very difficult.

Its just practice, practice, practice. F8 would have increased your chances, but then you'd have had to double the ISO to 1600. Probably a trade off worth doing. I wouldn't go with a slower shutter speed
Alan

PPG
Flickr

percy

Link Posted 18/05/2014 - 19:11
Blythman wrote:
F8 would have increased your chances, but then you'd have had to double the ISO to 1600. Probably a trade off worth doing.

Thanks for that tip. I'll give that a try next time. As you say, lots more practice needed