Privet!

Aleks1298

Link Posted 21/02/2012 - 22:54
Finally got the guts to put some money into a decent camera. Thought of getting a K5 but then realized I will look stupid with it as I don't know how to use it, so settled on an excellent example of K20D. I'm pretty satisfied with it, however the kit lens that I got with it is really slow and coupled with K20D makes shooting quite a task during shadier times, though I think 90% of that is my own fault not the equipment.
As I'm on far poor side and cannot afford the praised DA or FA lenses nor even F, I was wondering if the old fish here could suggest me some cheaper alternatives as I'm a complete novice and doubt I will need that 1% extra sharpness for extra few hundred quid. My budget? I would like to stay below 150 for the lenses in total for 2-3 lenses. Sleepless nights around the forums have boiled my choices down to:

1. Pentax SMC M 50mm f1.7
or
2. Pentax SMC M 50mm f1.4
or
3. Pentax SMC M 55mm f1.8
3. Pentax SMC DA 50-200mm f/4-5.6
4. TOKINA SD MC 70-210MM F4-5.6

About the Pentax M lenses, is it worth to invest the extra 40 into an A lens instead of the M?

As majority of those are manual lenses and by the looks of it the split-prism focus screen makes life easier, how useful is it in real life?

Are there any good other equipment I could get for relatively low budget or equipment I should stay away from? Aka M42 lenses? And what is the story with lenses with a bit of fungus? Should I steer away from them or look at them as a good cheap alternative?

Aleks
Pentax K-5 and co.
Last Edited by Aleks1298 on 21/02/2012 - 22:55

davidstorm

Link Posted 21/02/2012 - 23:07
Lots of questions in one forum post! The answers depend to a great extent on your own preferences / budget but I will have a go! I'm sure others more knowledgeable than me can give better advice.

- The 'A' lenses would be preferable if you can afford to stretch to them - they are also more saleable if you ever want to sell them on