Photography books

katiem111

Link Posted 30/01/2011 - 10:07
Hi, as a complete novice, can anyone recommend one book that they found helpful? have spend ages on amazon, but there are just so many books out there, i ended up with a shortlist of about 20 books
I already have Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson and the Digital SLR Bible by Nigel Hicks, which is a bit dated, but would appreciate your input. There seem to be very few books out there specific to Pentax cameras, does that really matter? Thanks
S**t happens, but usually before I can get my camera out

johnriley

Link Posted 30/01/2011 - 10:12
If there is an area of particular interest, how about a book, say, on Landscape photography, or Portraits and so on.

The trouble is that photography is susch a big subject that there are rather a lot of books.

They don't have to be Pentax orientated - photography is photography regardless of the camera used.
Best regards, John

matwhittington

Link Posted 30/01/2011 - 10:18
In terms of the basics of how the camera works and how to control the various settings to get the picture you want, the best book I have seen is John Shaw's wildlife photography field manual (I think that is what it is called)... It deals with all of the basics pretty well I think and is pretty readable, well illustrated - highly recommended by me. That said, there are so many books out there, it's horses for courses I think - might be worth finding a bookshop or library and browsing through their books to see which might suit you best...

EDIT - it's called 'John Shaw's Nature Photography Field Guide'...

Cheers
Mat W

My Flickr: link
Last Edited by matwhittington on 30/01/2011 - 10:20

katiem111

Link Posted 30/01/2011 - 10:28
thanks john and mat, i think i will have to decide which type of photos i want to take, and go from there. Oh, but the books are so tempting...
S**t happens, but usually before I can get my camera out

fatspider

Link Posted 30/01/2011 - 10:34