Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Pentax K100 Battey Problem

malburley
Posted 19/10/2009 - 12:30 Link
I have been using Pentax SLRs for over 20 years. I have enjoyed the K100 for 3 years but am started to have "battery depleted" problems. Even when I insert four brandn ew Sony Ultra AAs which show on battery tester as 100% charged it will not start up. Normally I use four rechargeable AA 2500 (or 2600). If they have just been recharged and not used they will usually start the camera. If I use them for say six shots today, the next day they will not start the camera.

I sent the camera back to Pentax. They returned it having replaced the battery cover but the problem is not cured. Has anyone had any similar problems, please, and if so, how did they resolve the problem?

Malburley
19/10/2009
lidy
Posted 19/10/2009 - 12:55 - Helpful Comment Link
I used too use rechargeable 2700 AAs, but I didn't like the behaviour of the meter; it just didn't seem very reliable (would say full and a few minutes later only half full or similar). A few months ago I've bought Sanyo Eneloops and have had no problems since. Might be worth a try?
Dodging and burning are steps to take care of mistakes God made in establishing tonal relationships. - Ansel Adams -
galeforce1
Posted 19/10/2009 - 13:58 - Helpful Comment Link
Some types of rechargables develop 'memory' after a while, which greatly reduces their capacity so they don't charge fully, others may suffer a bit of a voltage drop and give incorrect readings on the meter (and with normal rechargables they start to lose their charge as soon as you take them off the charger). Like lidy, I changed to Eneloops some time back and have never had a problem since then (these will hold their charge for much longer periods when not in use).