PC Security

shargreaves

Link Posted 15/12/2008 - 23:27
Hi A friend recommended "Avast" anti-virus software (a free download). Seems to work for me, no probs as yet. It sends updates every couple of days,so I assume it's doing it's stuff.

Site virgin

hefty1

Link Posted 16/12/2008 - 00:29
shargreaves wrote:
Hi A friend recommended "Avast" anti-virus software (a free download). Seems to work for me, no probs as yet. It sends updates every couple of days,so I assume it's doing it's stuff.

Site virgin

Welcome shargreaves! I've been using Avast for around 3 years now and heartily recommending it to anyone who asks (which has been quite a few people!). In that time I know of no computer that's been running Avast to get any form of infection.

It's free, uses very little system resources and just works brilliantly and quietly in the background. I'm glad I'm not the only one here who's pleased with it.
Joining the Q

Roscoe

Link Posted 16/12/2008 - 08:05
Hyram wrote:
Can anyone recommend 'security' software for a PC that actually works

My home PC was attacked by some 'malware' which McAfee happily allowed in to change various registry settings, without coming up with any alerts.

A McAfee scan indicates the machine to be 'clean' whereas other spyware type programmes that I ran from a disk, indicate a major infection.

I cannot now access the internet, so this is being typed at work.

I use AVG Free version 8.0 it comes complete with it's own anti Spyware program built in and I have had no problems.

DO Not Use Norton!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ttk

Link Posted 16/12/2008 - 08:12
Hi Shargreaves and welcome,
When you have a moment would you please fill in your location profile, Thanks.

You will find on here a mix of Antivirus users, I myself use Norton 2009 on the laptop (Vista) and Eset A/V on our Desktop (XP)..
Tel,

beachboy2

Link Posted 16/12/2008 - 13:39