Ownuser Battery Grip FBH-P3

shaks

Link Posted 18/01/2009 - 20:41
Hi all, I'm highly interested in the Battery grip by Ownuser, mainly because of its price and that it takes AA batteries. However, because of its price, I'm a little concerned that it's not going to be very good.

Has anybody had any experience with this grip?

My apologies if this has already been asked but I couldn't find the post.

Cheers

P.S My K10D will arrive on Tuesday and I can't stop myself from telling everyone.

loskeran

Link Posted 19/01/2009 - 12:16
Hi Shaks,
If it is the same sort of thing as my friends Nikon 40x version, my advice is forget it, It is very Naff.
Save your money and get the Pentax one, and it will be weather sealed.

shaks

Link Posted 19/01/2009 - 12:18
I think you're right. The more I look at it, the more I realise I was being a little too optimistic.

Daniel Bridge

Link Posted 19/01/2009 - 12:32
I have no experience of it, but it looks bulky, and lacks the command dials, green button, Exposure compensation button, and the storage space for the remote release and spare memory card. Oh and it's not weather sealed, which may or may not be important to you.

And why's it got 2 shutter release buttons?

If I was going for a cheaper alternative, I think I'd be more tempted by one of the copies of the pentax design, but not knowing how good they are...

But I was happy spending £100 on the genuine article.

Dan
K-3, a macro lens and a DA*300mm...

shaks

Link Posted 19/01/2009 - 12:38
My main reason for wanting one is for the battery issue. A nightmare for me has always been being on location somewhere without electricity to charge the batteries. The ownusers accept AA's albeit an army of AA's.

womble

Link Posted 19/01/2009 - 14:17