Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

ganners
Posted 24/06/2008 - 08:52 Link
Hello everyone

I have been lurking here for a while - thought it was about time I said hello.

I've been interested in photography in for some time and used film SLRs in the 90s. I was thinking of getting back into SLR photography and then couldn't resist the value of the K10!

I work in IT and so qualify as a bit of a geek. I understand technology and also have a reasonable grasp of the 'theory' of photography but generally take crap pictures! I don't think I have the eye for it.

Still, I'm looking forward for the chance to practice and improve.

Cheers
Paul
K10D, Kit 18-55, Sigma 70-300 APO, Mecablitz AF48
ChrisA
Posted 24/06/2008 - 09:04 Link
ganners wrote:
generally take crap pictures! I don't think I have the eye for it.

I don't believe (except possibly with rare exceptions) that people either 'have' or 'don't have' the eye for it.

I think most people develop it, if they're motivated, and work hard at learning from their mistakes. Some will develop quicker than others, as with other things in life, but as with those things, effort plays a big part.

Even recognising that your pictures are crap is a good start, and I'd put money on it being the place most of us were at, at one time.

Welcome!
hefty1
Posted 24/06/2008 - 10:14 Link
Welcome ganners!

Have a go at entering the weekly competition or post some photos in the gallery - the feedback you get can go a long way in improving your pictures. Other than that it's all down to practice, practice, practice...
Joining the Q
Father Ted
Posted 24/06/2008 - 13:25 Link
ganners wrote:
Hello everyone
I understand technology and also have a reasonable grasp of the 'theory' of photography but generally take crap pictures! I don't think I have the eye for it.

Still, I'm looking forward for the chance to practice and improve.

Cheers
Paul

Hi Paul!

Sounds like you are already one step ahead of where I am at the moment