Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

New medium format scanner

bjolester
Posted 12/01/2020 - 23:18 Link
I have been shooting medium format film on a Pentax 67ii since about 2012, and scanned the films on an Epson V750 flatbed scanner. The scans from the V750 have been okay, especially with negative film, but I have been struggling to get good results with slide film. The flatbed scanner is just not good enough to capture dark shadow detail in dense slide film, and the tonality from the scans are also somewhat lacking. By chance I was able to purchase an old Minolta Dimage Scan Multi Pro from a photographer here in Norway. The Multi Pro can compete with the Nikon Coolscan 8000/9000, and is great scanner, both in terms of resolution and tonality, but also in build quality. Unfortunately Minolta have no support for these old scanners, and there only a few places in Europe that claim to repair them, so my investment is a gamble. Hopefully the Multi Pro will serve me well for some years to come... Anyway, I am rescanning some of my medium format film endevours and enjoying the scans from the Minolta. Here are some of my recent rescans, a mixture of Fuji Provia 100F and Fuji Velvia 100.

Comments and critique are welcome!

Comment Image
Ridges by bjolester, on Flickr

Comment Image
Morning Mist by bjolester, on Flickr

Comment Image
Autumn Lake by bjolester, on Flickr

Comment Image
Autumn Colours by bjolester, on Flickr

Comment Image
Church By The Sea by bjolester, on Flickr

Comment Image
Rondane I by bjolester, on Flickr

Comment Image
Rondane II by bjolester, on Flickr

Comment Image
Moon and Light House by bjolester, on Flickr
Bjørn

PPG
Flickr
pschlute
Posted 13/01/2020 - 00:00 Link
Autumn Lake is beautiful.
LennyBloke
Posted 13/01/2020 - 07:47 Link
Lovely set of images - if I were to pick one then "Autumn Colours" would be the one
LennyBloke
RobL
Posted 13/01/2020 - 07:59 Link