ME Super blank negatives

Snapper_UK

Link Posted 27/12/2012 - 01:43
Hello. I am new and have two question, one of which I will ask in this thread.

I am a new member from England and will get round to introdcucing myself properly in the next day or so but in the meantime I wonder whether anyone can help me with a problem I am having.

I am fairly new to photography and slrs too for that matter although I a developing my own film and am hooked!

My question is this and, I think it is born of inexperience perhaps, as opopsed to a faulty camera which I recently had serviced.

I took some night shots on the auto mode which have come out blank. Other film on the camera was fine but was shot in the day.

I suspect that the shots were taken needing more than the 4seconds maximum the me super allows in auto and unlike my Pentax LX the ME Super could ot cope with this,

Does that sound like it is the problem and why I got blanks for those shots? I am sure that it wasn't a developing issue as the other shots came out.

Sorry if this is a bit basic and perhaps naive but I am hoping it is my above error which is the problem and not the meter etc as I have paid recently for a service. Any guidance would be very welcome.

John

johnriley

Link Posted 27/12/2012 - 08:33
It's a bit vague unfortunately to be sure. "Night shots" could mean quite a few different things, can you be more specific please? Indoors, outdoors, type of lighting, subject matter, etc.

The ME Super is limited to nominally 4 second exposures is Auto (Av) although some samples of the camera may manage longer.
Best regards, John

Snapper_UK

Link Posted 27/12/2012 - 09:18
Hello John. Thanks for the reply.

I was walking around my town taking night shots of buildings statues etc unde eithe limited moonlight or poor street lighting or both.

What I am hoping is the camera isnt broken and the fact that the shots should have had more than light (ie more than the 4 seconds they were getting in AV)