M 100 f4 Macro shots. Hints and tips please.

MarkD

Link Posted 02/08/2009 - 16:02
I'm new to this macro lark. These are some of my better efforts with this lens. I bought it recently for 70 on ebay and I must say the more I use it the more I like it. It is soooo sharp!
So far I have only ever used it hand held in natural light and my biggest problem is getting things in focus. Being manual focus it's not ideal for fast moving ( or even slow moving) insects, as the depth of field is so shallow. Also the slightest breeze moves whatever the insects are perched on so everything goes in and out of focus. My current solution is just to take loads of pictures and hope some come out in focus but there must be a better way! How do you regular macro users shelter thing from the wind and/or hold things steady. I'll leave additional lighting for another topic, after I've got a decent flash!
Anyway I hope the links work, I'm new to this too.... be as brutal as you like , I can take it!
Bee on clover. I think I should have cropped this a bit.

Bee on Dahlia. I really like the colours on this one.

Hoverfly on thistle. Hmm, not sure about this one. At first I thought the beetles were some sort of fruiting body like blackberrys, but then it dawned on me that thistles don't do that! Then one moved!

And now the ladybirds. I've cropped these, hopefully in the most interesting way. I've included the original uncropped pictures for two of them so you can make up your own mind and offer "constructive" criticism....
Ladybird 1 cropped

and uncropped

Ladybird 2 cropped

and uncropped

and finally......
Ladybird 3. This one was blowing in the breeze a bit so if I knew how, it would be the perfect candidate for focus stacking the multitude of attempts at this one...

.........all the gear, no idea!
Me super, MX, LX, K5,DA 18-55WR, DA 17-70, DA 55-300, DA40 Ltd, FA50 1.4, Samsung D-Xenon 12-24,Samsung 100mm macro M50 1.7(x3), M28 3.5, M35 2.8, M100macro f4, M135 3.5(+others)