Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Low shutter speed overexposed at max aperture should I get a new lens?

Toon49
Posted 15/06/2013 - 14:51 Link
Sorry not sure if this is the right place to post and sorry if this is a really obvious question but I'm just learning! Anyway I went to the beach today with the intention of taking photos of the sea with a slow shutter speed but its a fairly sunny day and every picture was massively overexposed at anything under 1/200 shutter speed. I was letting the aperture be automatic but also did it manually and the max it goes is f22 (ISo was 200).
I was using a Pentax k-x with the kit 18-55mm lens.
Was I doing anything wrong or would I need a lens with a higher aperture? If so what would you reccomend?
Thanks again in advance you're all very helpful!
CIBarker
Posted 15/06/2013 - 15:01 Link
Hello Jade a variable ND filter for your lens would have helped you out. Once you've got the lowest ISO the smallest aperture the only other thing to do to extend the exposure time is to reduce the light into the lens with a ND filter would do that without adjusting the colours you're trying to capture.
Best regards
Chris
gwing
Posted 15/06/2013 - 15:03 - Helpful Comment Link
If you are at the beach on a sunny day there will be *lots* of light so normal exposures will tend to be at high shutter speeds.

If you want to get the shutter speed as slow as possible choose the lowest ISO available on the camera and the smallest aperture (in your case f22) and then take the shot in AV mode or manual. There aren't really many lenses with apertures smaller than f22 so a different lens isn't the answer. Even doing all this the slowest possible shutter speed may not be as slow as you want, if so:

a) Do the same thing when there is less light (early morning, early evening, cloudy day).
b) Use something called an ND or Neutral Density filter to reduce the light. Essentially it is a piece of dark glass you screw onto the front of the lens.