Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Lens rental

Sitav
Posted 13/11/2007 - 22:42 Link
Does anybody know of or has anyone any experience of lens rental? I'm planning a trip to Africa next year and can't really afford a fast telephoto for the wildlife shots I'm anticipating and a teleconverter on my Sigma 70-300 would slow it down to much...
Any thoughts?
gartmore
Posted 13/11/2007 - 22:53 Link
Calumet rent most things although I dont reckon they will do much with a Pentax mount. They ask for a deposit of the full retail value of the kit on your credit card in advance. I have always found that buying kit always pays for itself (OK I take pictures for a living) but you could always look out for an M42 telephoto as opposed to a zoom as a budget option, some people have been posting some impressive pictures here with lenses that cost less than £5.00!!!
Ken
“We must avoid however, snapping away, shooting quickly and without thought, overloading ourselves with unnecessary images that clutter our memory and diminish the clarity of the whole.” - Henri Cartier-Bresson -
Kim C
Posted 13/11/2007 - 23:14 Link
Most of the rental places deal with the pros which means Canikon and Hassy stuff. I am not aware of anyone renting Pentax.

Kim
Don
Posted 13/11/2007 - 23:41 Link
Alot of places have a two week return policy....
nice to know, if you're on the fence about buying....
be warned, it's really hard to take it back after you've had a week to get attached to it.....

I'd make the plunge on the lens, and cut back on the meals, if I were in your shoes......foriegn food would probably only give you the trots anyways...the photos will last a lifetime!!!
Fired many shots. Didn't kill anything.
Gwyn
Posted 14/11/2007 - 09:24 Link
I took a 28-300 to Tanzania last year. It was fine. You can get close enough for good photos with a 300 generally. Given the light there you do not need a fast lens. I didn't change lenses much (I had the kit lens too) because of the dust.