Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

K3 questions.

aadixon
Posted 17/01/2014 - 13:27 Link
So, I got my k3 yesterday, and updated the firmware. It's pretty fantastic so far. I'm still learning it, and I literally just figured out what I was going to ask on here (How to use the bracketing feature correctly).

So the little preview button (on the OFF/ON dial) is it just to save the hassle of deleting a photo if it wasn't how you'd like it to be? When doing that I see it saves it as a JPEG, but then gives the option to save it as a RAW after the JPEG is saved. So, does the K3 store the RAW information temporarily or what? Just wondering how it can save RAW if it shot JPEG, or if there is a difference in quality of that RAW file compared to if I shot RAW without the preview function.

-Aaron
johnriley
Posted 17/01/2014 - 14:21 - Helpful Comment Link
The RAW data is still in the buffer and can therefore be saved at that time. It is the same as if you shot RAW and gives JPEG shooters the chance to save an occasional shot as RAW.
Best regards, John
JAK
Posted 17/01/2014 - 15:17 Link
aadixon wrote:
So the little preview button (on the OFF/ON dial) is it just to save the hassle of deleting a photo if it wasn't how you'd like it to be?

If you just do a preview the image isn't automatically saved at all - it's for testing your settings, only you get the option to save it which is sometimes handy - imagine only having a preview image that was unrepeatable but couldn't be saved! It is possible to customize that in the menu options to give an optical preview instead so you can see the depth of field through the viewfinder before taking the shot like some old film cameras used to have.
John K
Edited by JAK: 17/01/2014 - 15:18
aadixon
Posted 18/01/2014 - 06:40 Link
JAK wrote:
aadixon wrote:
So the little preview button (on the OFF/ON dial) is it just to save the hassle of deleting a photo if it wasn't how you'd like it to be?