K10D or KM (K2000)

P_H_I_L_L

Link Posted 19/01/2010 - 17:49
I'm totally new to DSLR's but have firmly decided that I want a Pentax. Like most people money is an issue. I'd been hoping to pick up a K10D with kit lens on ebay for about 250 but I just keep missing them.

I'm frustrated that I can't get my hands on a camera and so I'm considering throwing caution to the wind and going for a brand new KM. Argos are selling them brand new with kit lens for 329 which is considerably over my budget

My question is; asking the sway of public opinion, is the KM that much more of a better camera than the K10D. From what I've read the K10D is almost legendary in it's features and build quality. I have heard though that the KM is better suited to beginners.

I'm just not sure what to do; keep my patience and hold off for a K10D and then not feel too guilty about buying some cheap additional manual lenses or buying the KM and trying to then hide the cost from my wife and not being able to buy any lenses.

davex

Link Posted 19/01/2010 - 17:53
Wait for the K10, and dont feel guilty, you will enjoy your photography much more.

Davex.
K5 + 8mm-500mm zooms and primes
Please feel free to play with any images I post.
My flickr: link

Anvh

Link Posted 19/01/2010 - 18:02
Yes the K-M is more suited for beginners since the K10D has more options and less automatic modes but when you past a certain point in which you begin to understand all the basics then the K10D would be a great camera.
In the end it comes down to what you want.
Stefan

K10D, K5
DA* 16-50, DA* 50-135, D-FA 100 Macro, DA 40 Ltd, DA 18-55
AF-540FGZ
Last Edited by Anvh on 19/01/2010 - 18:02

davex

Link Posted 19/01/2010 - 18:19
Agreed Stefan, think the thing is Phill you may have to pay over the 250, but at least once you`ve got it a good one should last you a few years before you yearn for the K7, or whatever comes next.

Davex.
K5 + 8mm-500mm zooms and primes
Please feel free to play with any images I post.