Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

Its been a long time

PeterE
Posted 21/02/2014 - 10:17 Link
Hi,

Another newbie here, looks a great forum...

My last Pentax was a K1000 c 30 years ago, great camera which got stolen. Replaced it with an Olympus OM1 which was cheaper and stayed with me for 20 years. Failing eyesight required a change to the autofocus systems and became a Canon user until 3 years ago when I had to sell the lot!. several ££££s worth.

Now able to get back to the hobby and with no gear it was quite refreshing to have a look around at whats on offer.
A friend has just upgraded to a Pentax K3 and lent me their K5! . Must admit I was sceptical but had always liked the pentax brand. Just a day in the hand convinced me that I need look no further and picked up the K5 and the kit lens 18-55 from said friend. Now I need to invest in more glass and gear

Going to be doing quite a lot of travelling this year, any recommendations on landscape and travel lenses would be very welcome , I had a look through the threads and already have some ideas, want to keep it to a couple of lenses only. is it worth getting the 18-135 , 17 -70 has anyone got the 10 - 17? (Must admit I think the kit lens is good- for a kit lens!) but probably want some with either more reach or is wider! . image quality is important , but I'm no pixel peeper and bank balance isn't huge! Same goes for a Camera flash, always been a metz user in the past, but any thought on options would be great

Pete
K3, K50

Only doin' it for fun
Edited by PeterE: 21/02/2014 - 10:17
wvbarnes
Posted 21/02/2014 - 10:43 Link
Welcome Pete,

I've settled on the DA15mm Ltd, The 18 - 135 DA WR and the 55- 300 DA for my K5, all compactly in a small Crumpler bag for travel. A spare battery and hard grad and polariser Cokin filters complete the set up.

I have a Sigma PTTL compatible flashgun, but rarely take it.

A cheap 7day shop monopod walking stick is handy for Greek Islands when out walking.