How to use lens pen?

cher-cher

Link Posted 11/03/2010 - 11:41
Hi, I am a noob in DSLR, so I need some help. I just bought a lens pen from this site. I observed that it leave (I tried it only on my hand, I was afraid to test it on the lens) that carbon marks other forum members talked about. As I am not the only one seing that, I have to presume this is normal. But now is my question: when I will try to clean the lens wouldn“t the lend get dirty by those residues (that appeared to me kinda greasy, but this might be the effect of being carbon microparticles)? How do I clean those carbon (or what it is) marks I suppose will appear when I use the pen? Shall I use a microfiber after cleaning?
Anyway, I guess this pen is to be used for fingerprints, not for dust, right?
And one more question about the pen: is it to be used also for sensor?
Many thanks

iceblinker

Link Posted 11/03/2010 - 11:57
Yes, a LensPen should be used for fingerprints and the like, rather than dust and grit. The carbon is normal and is how it works. It absorbs grease.

1. Blow (preferably with a bulb blower).

2. If any dust or grit particles remain, lightly brush with the LensPen's brush. Blow again afterwards as well.

3. Clean with the LensPen's felt pad.

4. Blow (preferably with a bulb blower).

5. If any carbon dust remains, lightly brush with the LensPen's brush.

6. Twist the LensPen in the cap to prime it with carbon ready for next time.

Occasionally wash the brush.

Microfibre cloths are not as effective, and more often leave greasy smears behind. Any smearing you see after using a LensPen is likely to be dry carbon dust which can be brushed off.
~Pete
Last Edited by iceblinker on 11/03/2010 - 12:12

beakynet

Link Posted 11/03/2010 - 15:24
cher-cher wrote:
Many thanks

No

There should not be grease on the sensor, not ever! Also, the brush is not soft enough for the senor - only use the pen on filters or lens eliments.
Bodies: K5IIs, K7, MZ5n, LX, MV