How do I do time lapse K5ii

Stevewales

Link Posted 18/03/2015 - 19:37
Hello again.
After how helpful this forum was with lens advice I have another in for you.
I'll remind you that I'm new to this
I would love to capture the night sky and as I live in the middle of wales we have some brilliant dark clean skies.
I have the Pentax K5ii and a 10-20 mm wide angle lens.
I have a tripod
I have no remote.
Thank you all

McGregNi

Link Posted 18/03/2015 - 21:48
Go into recording menu (2) and choose the "interval shooting'' item. Here you choose the number of photos and time interval between them. When ready scroll up to ' start shooting'' and press ok.

The camera will fire the shots as per whatever settings you had made prior to activating interval shooting' .... So for example, M exposure mode with f5.6 and 30 seconds time value should give reasonable results with a starry sky, at ISO 100. Time value is limited to a maximum of 30 seconds though, so if its not bright enough then you'd need to try a wider aperture ... You might increase ISO a little bit , but I wouldn't go beyond 800 with a night sky even on a K5.

You won't need a remote as the shots are fired automatically. Focus should be set manually and left untouched during the whole sequence.
My Guides to the Pentax Digital Camera Flash Lighting System : Download here from the PentaxForums Homepage Article .... link
Pentax K7 with BG-4 Grip / Samyang 14mm f2.8 ED AS IF UMC / DA18-55mm f3.5-5.6 AL WR / SMC A28mm f2.8 / D FA 28-105mm / SMC F35-70 f3.5-4.5 / SMC A50mm f1.7 / Tamron AF70-300mm f4-5.6 Di LD macro / SMC M75-150mm f4.0 / Tamron Adaptall (CT-135) 135mm f2.8 / Asahi Takumar-A 2X tele-converter / Pentax AF-540FGZ (I & II) Flashes / Cactus RF60/X Flashes & V6/V6II Transceiver
Last Edited by McGregNi on 18/03/2015 - 21:50

Helpful

Stevewales

Link Posted 19/03/2015 - 09:16
Thank you so much. Really helpful and I will post some pics when done.

davidwozhere

Link Posted 20/03/2015 - 00:09