Hi all - complete newbie

EKE_38BPM

Link Posted 20/08/2011 - 14:31
I am a complete photography novice. I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT PHOTOGRAPHY!

My girlfriend's Dad gave her his K10D when he bought something new (no idea what) but she's not interested in learning how to use it and is happy to use her point and shoot or camara phone for snaps. As she doesn't want to learn how to use the K10D, she has given me the task of learning how to use it and then I can show her (she's pretty smart, huh).

I said I am a complete novice but that is not strictly true. My last camera was a Kodak Discman (remember those?) so I am completely overwhelmed by the number of buttons, menus, sub-menus and options on the camera.
The only button I am completely confident with using is the delete button!

A full list of the contents of the camera bag I've been given is (and prepare to laugh at me when I get all of the names of things wrong):
Pentax K10D - I think its a called a 'camera body', right?
Pentax SMC DA 18-55mm. - I think it is the 'standard' lens but I'm not sure of the 'F' thingys. It looks similar to this.
Pentax 52mm lens hood - I had to google the serial number to find out what it is called. What is it for and when should it be used?
Kenko MC Skylight [1A] 52mm - Google tells me its a filter of some sort. Again, I have no idea what its for and when it should be used.
Tamron AF 70-300mm 1:4-5.6 LD Tele-Macro[1:2] - You can probably tell I'm a novice as I just copied everything written on the lens. I don't know what is important and what isn't. Oooh, just found the lens hood for this lens too.
Battery, charger and a couple of 2 gig Sandisk Ultra II SD cards.
All of this kit lives in a Lowepro camera bag.

I've had some fun over the last couple of days taking pictures of the cat and annoying some mates by taking more pictures than a pap on the red carpet but as I play around with the myriad options all of my shots are very hit and miss.