First attempt at portraits

pschlute

Link Posted 26/02/2017 - 18:45
Here are two of my first attempts at portraits using wireless flash (AF 540 and AF360). I was using manual exposure and P-TTL wireless. One flash was on camera with a diffuser (head either pointed to the side with +2 compensation or pointed ahead with 0 compensation). The other flash was positioned on the right and fitted with a snoot (-0.5 compensation).

I would really appreciate any advice/criticism as although I have been a photographer for many, many years I have never used flash creatively.

Can I also express my deepest thanks to Nigel for not only writing a very helpful flash practical guide, but also for answering my questions. Without this i would still be both metaphorically and probably literally, in the dark.

Peter

My Flickr page

LennyBloke

Link Posted 26/02/2017 - 18:50
I can't offer any constructive criticism - except to say that the first one is pretty much what I would call a perfect pet portrait
LennyBloke

stub

Link Posted 26/02/2017 - 18:56
No complaints from me....... All looks well. I congratulate anyone attempting off camera flash with Pentax... Its not so easy going....
K1 K-5ii K7 Various lenses

Stuart..
Last Edited by stub on 26/02/2017 - 19:00

autumnlight

Link Posted 26/02/2017 - 23:41
Two beautiful shots, can't comment on flash because i haven't any experience, the end product is what matters and these look lovely to me!
Kind regards Maria

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Maria-Gray-photography/589310071158079?ref=hl

McGregNi

Link Posted 27/02/2017 - 01:13