Exposure Compensation

andy_bell

Link Posted 04/07/2014 - 12:40
I'm lucky enough to be visiting a couple of Air-Shows in the near future, and I was wondering how much exposure compensation would generally be required to take into account the brightness of the background(the sky)whilst taking shots of flying aircraft.

Also what is considered to be the best focus setting for photographing Aircraft in flight?
A few bits & Bobs

Aero

Link Posted 04/07/2014 - 13:57
I'm no expert but it helps to take a reading from the ground -- grass or even tarmac -- and lock this in. It's not easy to adjust exposure "on the fly", particularly with fast jets. Mind you, we've got some top-notch airshow photographers here and I'm sure they'll come up with a better approach.

Al

McGregNi

Link Posted 04/07/2014 - 14:26
If you're using autofocus, then on a Pentax DSLR check your custom menu item 'link AE to AF point' ... when active this will increase the matrix metered bias to the area covered by the active focus points, and in the case of an in-focus aircraft in the sky, then is likely to increase overall exposure somewhat.

My main concern if shooting this sort of thing would be underexposed aircraft against a correctly exposed sky, which would be the most common automatic scenario (assuming a lot of sky and a much smaller amount of aircraft). It depends of course on the sun direction - if your plane is in shadow it will be worse, and if its got sunlight glinting off it all may be well. The setting I mentioned above may make some difference, but is unlikely to sort everything out.

If metering off ground items then I'd suggest making sure they are actually fully sunlit to get a good balance for the sky - shadow areas will likely cause overexposure if those settings are locked in and then you head for the sky.