Elements v Lightroom

David Cook

Link Posted 09/03/2008 - 10:47
Hi All,
You can probably tell from the title that I am new to all of this. I have recently purchased a K10D and am thinking of doing more than just loading the images onto the computer.
I understand that there are various programmes out there but was just wondering about the two. Do they do the same thing? Is one preferable to the other or do you need both?

Thanks.

Hyram

Link Posted 09/03/2008 - 10:55
David Cook wrote:
Hi All,
You can probably tell from the title that I am new to all of this. I have recently purchased a K10D and am thinking of doing more than just loading the images onto the computer.
I understand that there are various programmes out there but was just wondering about the two. Do they do the same thing? Is one preferable to the other or do you need both?

Thanks.

Welcome to the forum.

I started using Elements last year and think that it is a good programme.

We have the full blown Photoshop CS3 at work, but Elements seems to do everything that most people would want and is good value.

I cannot comment on Lightroom but I am sure that others will shortly.
Hyram

Bodies: K20D (2), K10D, Super A, ME Super, Auto 110 SLR, X70, Optio P70
Pentax Glass: DA* 300, DA* 60-250, DA* 50-135, DA* 16-50, DA 70 Ltd, FA 31 Ltd, DA 35 Ltd, DA 18-55 (2), DA 12-24, DA 10-17, M 200, A 35-70, M 40, M 28, Converter-A 2X-S, 1.4X-S, AF 1.7, Pentax-110 50, Pentax-110 24
Other Glass: Sigma 105 macro, Sigma-A APO 75-300
Flash: Metz 58 AF-1 P, Pentax AF160FC ringflash, Pentax AF280T

Lilly

Link Posted 09/03/2008 - 11:21
Yes, you can't go far wrong with Elements, especially the latest version, it is a great program to get you started, has 95% of what you need.

I use CS3 & could not live without Bridge but it is a lot more expensive!