Does Pentax need a CHEAP DSLR......??

dangie

Link Posted 30/03/2018 - 17:24
All budding photography enthusiasts need to start somewhere. Mostly we start at the bottom of the equipment range and as experience improves move up to better models. Very few buy top of the range cameras at the outset,

Using WEX as an example for the cheapest dslr's + kit lens.
Canon EOS 1300 = £349
Nikon D3400 = £454
Sony Alpha A68 = £499

Pentax K-S2 = £679
Pentax K-70 = £729

Now ok, you may say "Ah but the Pentax is better than the other cheaper cameras...."

But to the total beginner it isn't. They are probably looking at price plus the fact they can get a Canon or Nikon far cheaper than Pentax. Plus once they have bought into the brand, that's probably where they'll stay.

So. Does Pentax need a cheap model to compete with Canon, Nikon & Sony to get beginners into the Pentax brand?
6th Year Apprentice Pensioner

danofmk

Link Posted 30/03/2018 - 18:05
I'd have to say yes

As a relative newcomer to this myself, when I got my K30 in 2014 I can tell you for sure regardless of any better features it may have had, I wouldn't have been spending those sort of extra sums to get going

With the KP I am not sure what the need is for the K70 to be so expensive. It's not a million miles away from the K30 anyway, so not sure why it's suddenly jumped away from the other entry level cameras from the competitors price wise

1stEverPentax

Link Posted 30/03/2018 - 18:27
Definitely a YES from me as well.

Pentax were far too hasty to do away with the K-500 / KS-1 without replacing them with something they could sell at the same sort of price level. Ultimately it will be the main reason for Pentax's demise in my view as there can't be many newcomers buying into the brand and the pitifully small user base they have is not sufficient to keep the brand afloat.