Dedicated flash

Anonymous

Link Posted 01/01/2004 - 02:36
Any suggestions on a good dedicated flash that I can use with my ist D? Right now all I have is an old vivitar 283.

malcolmk

Link Posted 01/01/2004 - 09:16
Look at the Pentax AF360FGZ. A wealth of facilities that work well with the *ist D. I'm so pleased with mine I'm thinking of getting another.

ShotGun

Link Posted 02/01/2004 - 02:58
Agree with Malcolmk. The only little complain I have is the absence of head swivel, but that's very minor.
http://www.photonski.com/shotgun http://www.pbase.com/santyluib/first_istd_sample_photos
---------------------------------------
"It's only a Pentax!"

Anonymous

Link Posted 02/01/2004 - 14:34
Thanks- I just ordered one and will give it a try! I noticed that in the specifications it did not swival. I was hoping that it did, but my Vivitar does not swivel either and I have been doing OK with that one for many years.

Anonymous

Link Posted 04/01/2004 - 18:46
If you want a swiverl flash, you can get a Sunpak 444D with a Sunpak TTL PT-2D module for Pentax cameras. The PT-2D module also works on the 422D, which is an older version of the 444D.

malcolmk

Link Posted 04/01/2004 - 18:56
Who needs the 360 to swivel when you have the wireless mode which allows you to put it and point it where you like? It's light enough to hold in your left hand while you take pictures with your right.

ShotGun

Link Posted 05/01/2004 - 03:38
Hi malcolmk,

You are right about holding the flash in the other hand in a wireless P-TTL mode, I did it on a few occasions (works great), but later found out that doing this can easily become cumbersome, especially if you need to be dynamic and shoot dynamic subjects (people, kids, b-day parties, people candids, etc..). Maybe it's just me, but i think this method takes away the ease, ergonomics, and easily fatigues you in a short time... just me .2 cents