automatic setting

ggsupersport

Link Posted 30/06/2012 - 16:01
I have the Pentax 18-250 lens (that is no longer available) that I use on my Pentax K20 . I am a true amateur, but got GREAT photos on the all automatic setting.
If I set the front of the camera to manual. but leave the top button on green, will it still be on automatic with the exception of my having to use the focus ring?

I don't do well reading the guide book, and would be most appreciative of any help, as my lens no longer seems to focus in automatic...it searches in and out forever and never gets there.
Last Edited by ggsupersport on 30/06/2012 - 16:08

fritzthedog

Link Posted 30/06/2012 - 23:46
Hi Georgia

If you move the switch to MF from AF on the camera - yes everything except focus will still be automatic.

The problem with your lens not focusing may be something very simple such as a bad electrical contact. Have you tried cleaning all of the pins on the camera mount on the bottom of the lens with an alcohol based cleaning fluid and done the same thing on the contacts on the lens connector ring on the front of the camera?

Sometimes these get stuck due to a build up of dust/ dirt and a simple cleaning can sort it out.

It is certainly worth trying.

Good Luck

Carl
No matter how many lenses I have owned - I have always needed just one more

ggsupersport

Link Posted 30/06/2012 - 23:50
Thank you Carl, I will try that and see if it helps.....

ggsupersport

Link Posted 01/07/2012 - 01:58
Well Carl, the cleaning didn't work. I don't feel good about sending it in for repair...in the meantime purchased a Tamron 18-200...but it doesn't seem to be quite as sharp as the Pentax. I read once where the Pentax 18-250 was basically a Tamron lens with a little upgrade...not sure if there is anything to that. Also found a site that compared the two lenses and there didn't seem to be much difference. Maybe some of it is in my head. I will try to learn to use the Pentax lens manually.